Whitney Announce Covers Album Candid & Share The Roches' 'Hammond Song'

The 10-song release will include covers of David Byrne, Kelela, John Denver and more.
Posted: 15 July 2020 Words: John Bell

Whitney have today announced news of a new 10-track covers album, Candid, which will be released 14th August on Secretly Canadian. Following previously released versions of '‘Take Me Home, Country Roads’ (ft. Waxahatchee)' by John Denver and SWV’s ‘Rain’ back in May, the Chicago duo have also dropped another taste from the record, The Roches' 'Hammond Song'. 

The track featured on The Roches' 1979 debut record, and was also Quarantune pick by Billie Marten in our recent feature. "We both discovered 'Hammond Song' because Chris Coady sent it to us years ago as a reference for recording when we were making the last Smith Westerns record", drummer and vocalist Julian Ehrlich explains. "It became a song that was always around for us and then we showed it to the rest of the band. This cover is the longest Whitney recording ever and pretty much everything you hear on it is totally live, save for the horns and the slide solo. For a five minute song, if you mess up one part you have to do the whole thing live all over again."

Candid will also feature covers of the likes of David Byrne and Kelela. Find the full list of tracks below. 

Candid tracklisitng: 

1. Bank Head
2. A.M. A.M
3. Take Me Home, Country Roads (Ft. Waxahatchee)
4. High on a Rocky Ledge
5. Something Happen
6. Strange Overtones
7. Hammond Song
8. Crying, Laughing, Loving, Lying
9. Rain
10. Rainbows and Ridges

More from buzz