St. Vincent reveals video for new single 'Pay Your Way In Pain': watch here

After a week of teasing her latest 70s-inspired album Daddy's Home and matching guise, Annie Clark reveals music from her first new studio album since 2017's Masseduction.
Posted: 4 March 2021 Words: Tom Curtis-Horsfall Photos: Zackery Michael

St. Vincent has revealed details of her new studio album entitled Daddy’s Home out on Loma Vista Recordings on May 14, and her first since 2017's lauded Masseduction. After rumblings on Reddit and Twitter for a week, the news comes alongside new single 'Pay Your Way In Pain'. 

The accompanying video for the Jack Antonoff-produced single draws heavily from the crassly lit performance-based music videos of the 70s, complete with overlay graphics of the time. Take a look for yourselves below:

Annie Clark had previously noted her new album was inspired by her father's incarceration and the New York music scene of the early 70s: "I would say it’s the sound of being down and out Downtown in New York, 1973. Glamour that hasn’t slept for three days" said Clark in a recent interview.

Clark teased her new album and 70s-inspired guise in posters spotted in various locations last week, with the caption on the poster reading: "St. Vincent is back with a record of all-new songs. Warm Wurlitzers and wit, glistening guitars and grit, with sleaze and style for days. Taking you from uptown to downtown with the artist who makes you expect the unexpected. So sit back, light up, and by all means have that bourbon waiting, because … DADDY’S HOME.”

Full tracklist and album artwork below:

1. Pay Your Way In Pain

2. Down And Out Downtown

3. Daddy’s Home

4. Live In The Dream

5. The Melting Of The Sun

6. The Laughing Man

7. Down

8. Somebody Like Me

9. My Baby Wants A Baby

10. …At The Holiday Party

11. Candy Darling

Daddy's Home is out via Loma Vista Recordings on 14th May. To hear more from St.Vincent, click here.

More from buzz