Primavera Sound Unveil Preliminary Lineup For 2021

Alongside retaining some of this year's lineup including The Strokes, Tyler, The Creator, and Iggy Pop, Barcelona's indie music festival Mecca will welcome Tame Impala, Gorillaz, FKA Twigs, and many more come next June.
Posted: 27 May 2020 Words: Tom Curtis-Horsfall

There's at least a small chunk solace in the fact that the best part of major festivals this year have cancelled, as it at least offers a degree of certainty, drawing a line under the 2020 festival season and promptly moving forwards.

That's precisely what Primavera Sound have done for their 2021 edition. Successfully managing to secure the bulk of their lineup from this year for next year's outing, the indie music festival Mecca have revealed their preliminary lineup with The Strokes, Tyler, The Creator, Caribou, Bauhaus, Iggy Pop, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, The National, King Krule, Bikini Kill, and Beck amongst the foremost names returning to Barcelona next June. 

Of course, with touring schedules in disarray there's some notable omissions, including Lana Del Rey, Massive Attack, King Princess, Brittany Howards, Weyes Blood, and Kacey Musgraves. Surprise inclusions that'll appease the festival's disciples, however, come from the likes of Tame Impala, FKA Twigs, Gorillaz, IDLES, Jorja Smith, The Jesus and Mary Chain, and Jamie xx, so it's swings and roundabouts. 

All in all, and with plenty more names still to be revealed, Primavera Sound have done a sterling job to secure that many prominent names for this year's bumper lineup - see the full first announcement on the poster below:

Primavera Sound 2021 takes place on 2-6th June next year. To book tickets, click here.

More from buzz