Leeds-based DIY label Eeasy Records announce benefit compilation album in aid of local venues Mabgate Bleach & Wharf Chambers

The New Yorkshire Heavy Underground compilation, released via Bandcamp for 'no fee Friday' on 4th September, features regional talent such as Pulled Apart By Horses, bdrmm, Peach Club, and more.
Posted: 3 September 2020 Words: Tom Curtis-Horsfall Photos: Lindsay Melbourne

Purveyors of all things riffy and regional to Yorkshire, Leeds-based DIY label Eeasy Records have revealed details of a benefit compilation album to be released in aid of beloved local venues Mabgate Bleach and Wharf Chambers

Released tomorrow via Bandcamp on 'no fee Friday' (which has swiftly become a lifeline for independent artists), the compilation New Yorkshire Heavy Underground is a two-pronged project; to protect the venues dear to Leeds' local music community, but also shine a spotlight on artists that've been left by the wayside throughout the pandemic, with live performance and subsequent revenue drying up. 

Contributing to the compilation are longtime local figures in Pulled Apart By Horses, buzz bands bdrmm, MUSH, and Peach Club, with plenty more rich regional talent mucking in.

Check out the compilation artwork and tracklist below:

1. Thee MVPS - 'You Ain't It' [live]

2. Hamer - 'Saga' [demo]

3. bdrmm - 'Shame' [karaoke demo]

4. Bilge Pump - 'Wheel Of Yew' [Riley session]

5. Black Pudding - 'Sci-Fi Si'

6. Holodrum - 'No Dither' 

7. Belk - 'Flunk'

8. Peach Club - 'Lizard'

9. Bad Bug - 'Australia'

10. Ona Snop - 'Don't Tell Me What To Do'

11. Blacklisters - 'Stop Start'

12. Beige Palace - 'Useful Idiot'

13. The Shakamoto Investigation - 'Gutbuster'

14. Mush - 'Fire The Agent'

15. Pulled Apart By Horses - 'The Haze' [live]

16. Magick Mountain - 'Colossus' [live]

17. Cannibal Animal - 'One Day Made Of Wire' 

18. Nape Neck - 'Demonstrations'

19. Curb Gas - 'In My Lung'

20. Fossick feat. Marcos Rodriguez - 'Through The Ohms'

21. Cowtown - 'Sub Man'

New Yorkshire Heavy Underground is out tomorrow (Friday 4th September) via Eeasy Records. Click here to head to their Bandcamp.

More from buzz