Interpol's Paul Banks reveals 'Red Western Sky' video for new project Muzz - watch now

A debut album release for the trio has also been slated for 5th June on Matador Records.
Posted: 15 April 2020 Words: Tom Curtis-Horsfall

Several weeks back Interpol's frontman Paul Banks revealed new project Muzz, alongside The Walkmen drummer Matt Barrick and multi-instrumentalist Josh Kaufman, adding yet another string to Banks' bow. 

In what is the project's third single, 'Red Western Sky' slightly ups the tempo from Muzz's last efforts 'Bad Feeling' and 'Broken Tambourine', harnessing sombre, soulful balladry much in the guise of contemporaries The National - certainly more low-key than Interpol's thumping, solid body of work, but no less impactful. Check out the video below:

An equally collaborative effort from all three members, Banks and Kaufman have maintained their friendship since their school days with Barrick an ever-present on the New York indie scene for decades. The trio's organic chemistry tells throughout the handful of tracks they've released thus far. "Itโ€™s partly a shared musical taste from youth, as with me and Josh, but then itโ€™s also the souls of my friends that resonate with me when expressed through music. I think itโ€™s cosmic.โ€ said Banks about their writing and recording process. 

Their self-titled debut album Muzz is slated for release on 5th June via Matador Records. 

Muzz Tracklist:
1. Bad Feeling
2. Evergreen
3. Red Western Sky
4. Patchouli
5. Everything Like It Used To Be
6. Broken Tambourine
7. Knuckleduster
8. Chubby Checker
9. How Many Days
10. Summer Love
11. All Is Dead To Me
12. Trinidad

To hear more from Muzz, click here.

More from buzz