Fenne Lily announces second album, shares lead single 'Alapathy' - listen now

New album BREACH, released on Dead Oceans, is an affecting and typically sardonic diary entry from the Bristol-based troubadour.
Posted: 23 June 2020 Words: Tom Curtis-Horsfall

Bristol-based troubadour Fenne Lily has revealed the title of her second album, released on 18th September via Dead Oceans: BREACH

Artist's approaching the second album hurdle is a long-contested narrative, but Fenne Lily, armed with an affecting wisdom and sardonic worldview looks to build on the subtle profundity of her 2018 On Hold.  BREACH was written and composed in a self-imposed self-isolation (pre-pandemic ironically) in attempt to deal with "loneliness" Lily says about the album,  and "trying to work out the difference between being alone and being lonely." 

Despite the over-arching theme of isolation and self-reflection, BREACH certainly isn't drab and doesn't dwell by any means; with Shellac's Steve Albini co-producing, lead single 'Alapathy' suggests that Lily is embracing a fleshy, fast-paced injection to confront previous methods of combating her anxieties: "That feels like what I was doing in this record; I was breaking through a wall that I built for myself."

Check out the video for 'Alapathy':

BREACH is out on 18th September via Dead Oceans. To hear more from Fenne Lily, click here and check out the tracklist to BREACH below:

1. To Be a Woman Pt. 1
2. Alapathy
3. Berlin
4. Elliott
5. I, Nietzsche
6. Birthday
7. Blood Moon
8. Solipsism
9. I Used To Hate My Body But Now I Just Hate You
10. ’98
11. Someone Else’s Trees
12. Laundry And Jet Lag

More from buzz