Billie Marten seeks comfort in nature on new single 'Garden of Eden'

The singer-songwriter's third LP Flora Fauna will be released on 21st May via Fiction.
Posted: 28 January 2021 Words: John Bell Photos: Katie Sylvester

Billie Marten is back with 'Garden of Eden', her first single since last year's 'Orange Tree', along with news of her awaited third full-length Flora Fauna, which is set for release on 21st May on Fiction Records. The LP will be her first on Fiction after signing with the London-based indie last year over lockdown, shortly after we spoke to the Ripon songwriter about her Quarantunes picks

Recorded in London with Rich Cooper (Rina Sawayama, Hinds, Mystery Jets), Flora Fauna sees Marten bolster her sound with a punchier rhythm section, as this first offering shows. 

Marten notes that 'Garden of Eden' is "A song of growth, and competition to evolve as individuals in an increasingly suffocating and vacuous society. I liked the idea of humans growing up like tomatoes in the greenhouse, needing water and oxygen and space, but not getting any of it. The idea of seeking the natural elements and needing only that to survive plays into my constant dichotomy of living urban or bucolic. The choruses act as a burst of relief to allow space to breathe and to express  that  want  of  living  right."

Flora Fauna tracklisting: 

1. Garden Of Eden
2. Creature Of Mine
3. Human Replacement
4. Liquid Love
5. Heaven
6. Ruin
7. Pigeon
8. Kill The Clown
9. Walnut
10. Aquarium

More from buzz