Angel Olsen announces new album Whole New Mess - listen to title track here

Largely new versions of tracks from 2019's All Mirrors, Whole New Mess serves as its spiritual sister.
Posted: 28 July 2020 Words: Tom Curtis-Horsfall

A spiritual follow up to 2019's All Mirrors has been teased for a while now, but finally, Angel Olsen has announced her new album Whole New Mess via Jagjaguwar on 28th August.

Largely consisting of re-imagined tracks from last year's majestic All Mirrors, Whole New Mess is the first album Olsen has recorded without bandmates since 2012's Half Way Home, indicating the albums intimate nature. 

On the process behind Whole New Mess, Olsen states: "I had gone through this breakup, but it was so much bigger than that - Iโ€™d lost friendships, too. When you get out of a relationship, you have to examine who you are or were in all the relationships. I wanted to record when I was still processing these feelings. These are the personal takes, encapsulated in a moment."

Recorded back in October 2018, Olsen has been sitting on these versions for some time and has even performed the title track on several occasions on her All Mirrors tour. Hear 'Whole New Mess' below:

Whole New Mess tracklist:

1. Whole New Mess
2. Too Easy (Bigger Than Us)
3. (New Love) Cassette
4. (We Are All Mirrors)
5. (Summer Song)
6. Waving, Smiling
7. Tonight (Without You)
8. Lark Song
9. Impasse (Workinโ€™ for the Name)
10. Chance (Forever Love)
11. What It Is (What It Is)

Whole New Mess is out via Jagjaguwar on 28th August. To hear more Angel Olsen, click here.

More from buzz