Alt-rock icons Dinosaur Jr. announce new album Sweep It Into Space + new single 'I Ran Away'

The trio's first album in five years is set for release on 23rd April via Jagjaguwar and was co-produced by Kurt Vile.
Posted: 23 February 2021 Words: Tom Curtis-Horsfall

Dinosaur Jr. have announced details of new album Sweep It Into Space, their first since 2016's Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not. News of the trio's 12th studio album (and 5th since reuniting) is also ushered in by breezy new track 'I Ran Away' which features none other than Kurt Vile

Two of contemporary guitar music's most recognisable long-haired shredders are finally combining, with Vile co-producing J Mascis and co's new record which is set for release on 23rd April via Jagjaguwar

After initial recording sessions with Vile were disrupted by 'you know what', Mascis "ended up just mimicking a few things he'd done" wanting to replicate the duelling lead guitars of classic rock bar-dwellers Thin Lizzy. Wonderfully put in his own words, Mascis "guitarmonises" with Vile, and it's wonderful to hear.

Listen to 'I Ran Away' below: 

Artwork and tracklist for Sweep It Into Space below too:

1. I Ain't

2. I Met the Stones

3. To Be Waiting

4. I Ran Away

5. Garden

6. Hide Another Round

7. And Me

8. I Expect It Always

9. Take It Back

10. N Say

11. Walking To You

12. You Wonder

To hear more from Dinosaur Jr, click here.

More from buzz